insoymada
mga awit ug yawit sa kasingkasing bisaya

Blood mutants

I still had this prick mark in my left arm as I wrote this piece. I had my blood screened for donation. I don’t know the patient, or what he’s down with. I’m not interested. I’ve been donating blood for 12 years now and most of the time only a hangover stops me from saying yes.

If somebody needs blood, and he sounds like he’s about to cry pleading over the phone, he means it. Lack of blood is not something people lie about. It’s blood, for Christ’s sake. And somebody needs it quick.

But there’s more to my decision to always make my blood available to whoever needs it and whenever it’s possible. My blood is of the “rare” type. Now, it’s not one of those cases when being “unique” is cool. When it comes to blood types, there’s nothing cool in being part of only one percent of Asia’s population and less than 15 percent of the world’s. If anything, we’re freaks, or to be scientifically correct, mutants. It’s not something to celebrate about.

I have an O negative blood. And when someday I’ll find myself bleeding to death, my relatives will be spending precious hours hunting for people who share my blood type. And I will consider myself extremely lucky if the hospital can find at least three potential matches in one day. I will consider myself God’s beloved if one of these three people is willing to donate.

So, what is this blood? I’m not in the medical profession, but I’ll attempt a little explanation (It got me so worried one time that I spent hours learning about it in the Internet).

It’s like this. Many scientists believe that modern man evolved from ape-like primates. They found out that majority of mankind (85 percent) has a blood factor common with the rhesus monkey. This is called rhesus positive blood, shortened to Rh positive.

Rh factor is a protein that can be found on the surface of red blood cells. If the Rh factor is present in your blood, your blood type is positive; if it is not present, your blood type is negative. Each of the four blood types—O, A, B, and AB—can be “negative” or “positive” with respect to Rh.

On the creepy side, the Rh negative factor is considered a “mutation of unknown origin which happened in Europe, about 25,000-35,000 years ago,” a source said. Another source is spookier. “We came from aliens!”
In the US, about 15 percent are Rh negative. In the Philippines and in the whole of Asia, it’s approximately one percent.

What about in Cebu? As far as records at the Red Cross headquarters along Osmeña Blvd. are concerned, there are only 23 of us in the entire region. Of this pathetic figure, only 15 are active donors. The other eight had been walk-ins who fled at the sight of a needle, never to be found again, Red Cross personnel said.

At the Cebu City Medical Center, the laboratory in-charge asked me to please give him more time to dig the records. The Perpetual Soccour Hospital, Cebu Doctors’ University Hospital and Vicente Sotto Memorial Medical Center told me to come and do the hunt myself. Finding a needle in a haystack is time consuming.

I learned about the “National Registry of Rh Negative and Other Rare Blood Types” based in Manila, only because I searched the Internet, not because the group went out of its way to reach us.

I’m writing about this because there’s a need for us Rh negatives to organize ourselves and develop camaraderie, so that when all this fuel increase and rice shortage stuff becomes too much, we can always hop on to our spaceships and fly back to our home among the stars.

19 Responses to “Blood mutants”

  1. tagdan ko pa! mao nang feature-worthy jud ka kai alien diay ka, hehehe.. ako ni i-post sa multiply aron if ever naay species same as you are kai mkahimo na mo ug group, hehehe..

  2. hi noy. karon pa ko nga rare diay ka ug blood type. hehe 😉

  3. RH- and very curious I have been searching the web for info. One thing that does not ring true is this – supposedly two rh- (man and woman) would have much difficulty in having a live birth – I had four children and both my husband and I are rh-. Are we aliens or what????

  4. Oi! Kinahanglan diay mo e preserve. And one good way to do that is to put you all in cages!

    Just kidding! 😀

  5. Insoy…ur d man…im always looking forward to get to read ur sunstar articles and keep watch for this blog and urs is a delight as always informative and hilarious at the same time…effective. Well, ill link this post to my blog (hope u dont mind) also to help u in form ur super group of aliens…unfortunately, my blood type is not one of ur kind…heehhe.

  6. Rh postive koooo! hahaha. more rh running in my blood. *drool*

  7. Finished reading this piece a few minutes ago. Hello again!
    Just wanted to let you I’ll keep you on file as VIP – just in case….
    Boy! – but you just advertised yourself! May your tribe increase (here on earth and not in some other world!)

  8. salamat, earthlings. hehehe. 🙂

  9. wa na ko mubasa ani kay nabasahan na ni nako sa sunstar.. first time ko nakabasa og sunstar last tuesday.. 🙂 pareho diay mo ni jelly de belen sir RH+…

  10. soy, i think naay RH- blood association sa RBCC.

  11. hi doc. yup, i heard about it. i will check it out next week. the better, so that half the trouble of organizing is solved. 🙂 thanks doc.

  12. i have to tell you this story, soy, para maka value jud ka sa imong dugo and for others too.

    joel, an IW (hospital attendant of my prev govt hospital employer) was operated due to his kidney problem, his blood is Type AB (a rare group too, Type O is the very common type) , although there is a Type Ab club in RBCC, he never bothered (di jud ta kasulti ngano?) to secure blood. He underwent the knife and there were lots of blood loss as expected in any surgery. people were scrambling to look for type Ab blood all over the city but they were late. he died of blood loss. i dont know if it was lack of donors or the donors came in late. he was a good guy and he is even assigned in the operating room, the room where he breaths last. sayang.

    sori ha kay murag na blog akong comment! hehehehe!

  13. actually, this is a common scenario in the hospitals, lack of appropriate blood, kay way gusto mag-donor o kuwang lang sa kaalam kung unsaon pag-donor ug dugo?

  14. yes doc. if nagkuwang man gani ang Rh positive, unsa nalang ang Rh negative nga dugo. i will visit rbcc this week to get info about the matter. i’ve been to at least three hospitals na and red cross to gather names they have of Rh negative pipz. one is an american missionary. in her biodata she wrote, “willing to donate anytime.” i got her number and texted her. she’s so excited to help me start the Rh negative org here in cebu. she’s in manila pa. i’m gonna see her next week. thanks doc.

  15. thanks doc!

  16. meron po bang nakakalam ng any group of blood donors na may negative RH. I hope someone knows kasi most members of my family have a negative RH. so if ever baka makatulong kami.

  17. hi doods. we’re organizing a group of RH negativ pipz here in cebu. i’ll email you the details.

  18. Hi,
    When the ship is ready let me know. Are families allowed? I would hope so even if they are not RH -. In the mean time read my book; Click on my website.
    I am ready to go….


Leave a comment