insoymada
mga awit ug yawit sa kasingkasing bisaya

Love interrupted

For this particular column, I’ll be asking a special consideration from you my dear readers… HERO KASI NIYA SI RIZAL. GUSTO YATA NIYANG MAGPABARIL SA LUNETA AT IPAGTAYO NG REBULTO… It is Valentine’s Day this Thursday. And like any respectable columnist, it is my journalistic obligation to write at least one Love column this month… BACK OFF!

But as you see, dear readers, I’m having difficulty concentrating because HE HAS A COLORFUL PERSONALITY. HE LIVES BY FOUR Ls – LIVE, LOVE, LEARN, LEAVE A LEGACY… The TV is on. I don’t usually write with the TV on, but the country is suffering and watching the news and getting more confused by it is the only remaining patriotic thing a Filipino should do… ABALOS REFUSED TO COMMENT… So, please bear with me if I’m a bit disorganized.

Now, about Love. A Valentine’s Day column that fails to mention Shakespeare’s love sonnets is… ONE EXAMPLE OF A DYSFUNCTIONAL GOVERNMENT PROCUREMENT… In Sonnet 116, Shakespeare wrote: Let me not to the marriage of true minds / Admit impediments / Love is not love / Which alters when… WALA NA AKONG BUHOK… I’M NOT CUT TO BE A CELEBRITY.

And who can deny the role love songs play in our lives? Even the greatest love song ever written, which is Ricky Martin’s ‘She Bangs,’ never fails to make us teary-eyed for… THE TERM FILIPINO DOES NOT REFER TO ONE FAMILY. IT REFERS TO ONE FILIPINO NATION… The line “She looks like a flower but she stings like a bee, like every girl in his—to—ry” consistently tops Rolling Stone’s 100 Greatest Moments In Love Song History.

You see, artists – musicians, painters, poets… PROBINSYANONG INTSIK… – are fortunate because they possess skills which enable them to express love in ways most of us… RELIGIOUS OF THE GOOD SHEPHERD, SALESIAN SISTERS AND DAUGHTERS OF CHARITY… can only envy. When love is suppressed, artists rise above the occasion. Ordinary mortals… FACE THE SENATE…

One only has to read the news to know how love can be extremely dangerous if suppressed. I once read a news story where… 35 IMPORTED GOATS COST P700 THOUSAND… When the lovers learned that their parents were against their relationship and that they were about to be separated, the boy took his father’s gun and blew the girl’s brains out before shooting himself in the head. Told about their children’s deaths, the parents were reportedly quoted as saying: Emo kids!

I GUESS TROUBLE STARTED WHEN CHAIRMAN ABALOS WANTED TO PROTECT HIS $130 MILLION… I guess trouble starts when teenagers attempt to understand their romantic feelings by playing Warcraft 3 and Defense of the Ancients. I DON’T WANT THIS STATEMENT TO BE TAKEN AS A PARTISAN POLITICAL EXERCISE. I’VE SUFFERED LONG ENOUGH.

So to end this column, what is love really? The second greatest love song ever written provides us with the profoundest definition of love. The song I’m referring to is Billy Ray Cyrus’ ‘Achy Breaky Heart’. Here’s a sample verse. BUBUKOL PO ITO…

You can tell your ma I moved to Arkansas

Or you can tell your dog to bite my leg

Or tell your brother Cliff whose fist can tell my lips

He never really liked me anyway

 

I’M PRAYING THAT WE LEARN AFTER THIS… THE GOATS ARE OVERPRICED.

 

(sun.star cebu, february 12, 2008)

 

4 Responses to “Love interrupted”

  1. “Told about their children’s deaths, the parents were reportedly quoted as saying: Emo kids!”

    -hahahaha… emo’s the trend now huh?! hehe.. 🙂

  2. whoaa hehe ka bisaya diri oi hehe nice..tenk u diay sa pagbisita ensoy hehe..tuod paki add na u blog sa akong blogroll b? adto lang sa akong button linker para automatic ra nimo ma add ha? migo na ta bay ha?

  3. Hi!
    I just finished reading your column online and it was quite entertaining… but what would I expect from the songwriter of bisdak songs which my daughter used to play at home. (I also found them amusing) Anyway, knowing that you were a product of the Iligan Writers’ Workshop (my senior there by one year) I like your irreverence even if I can feel that your thoughts are anything but… (i.e., on the current Philippine scene, that is…) But then, if we don’t pause for ‘light’ takes – we’re going to go bonkers at the unfairness of it all – the immoderate greed – when there are those who don’t have anything to be greedy over.
    I’ved save your article for Charlene to read when she gets off-duty this p.m.
    You’re one funny Valentine…so, don’t change your (hair)style!

  4. hi mam ruiz. salamat mam. i-kumusta ko ni charlene. haven’t kept in touch with her na gyud. yes mam, i won’t change my (hair)style. 🙂 rakenrol!!!


Leave a Reply

